The 12 Tenses of English: For Everyone

Tips degree
2 min readOct 1, 2023

--

12 Tenses in English grammar

There are 12 tenses in English, which are formed by combining three tenses (past, present, and future) with four aspects (simple, progressive, perfect, and perfect progressive).

The simple tenses are the most basic and are used to describe actions that happen at a specific time, without indicating any additional information about the duration or completion of the action.

Simple present: I go to school every day.

Simple past: I went to school yesterday.

Simple future: I will go to school tomorrow.

The progressive tenses are used to describe actions that are happening at the present moment or over a period of time.

Present progressive: I am going to school now.

Past progressive: I was going to school when I saw you.

Future progressive: I will be going to school when you arrive.

The perfect tenses are used to describe actions that have happened in the past and have a connection to the present.

Present perfect: I have gone to school many times.

Past perfect: I had gone to school before you arrived.

Future perfect: I will have gone to school by the time you arrive.

The perfect progressive tenses are used to describe actions that have been happening in the past and are still happening now or that have finished in the recent past.

Present perfect progressive: I have been going to school for two years.

Past perfect progressive: I had been going to school for two hours when you arrived.

Future perfect progressive: I will have been going to school for three years by the time you arrive.

It is important to note that some linguists argue that there are more or fewer than 12 tenses in English, depending on how they define the term "tense." However, the 12 tenses listed above are the most commonly accepted and taught in schools.

--

--

Tips degree

Tips Degree (https://www.tipsdegree.com/) is dedicated to conducting the multi niche blogs which is the best guides for the peoples and marketer community.